therapeutic soup

There’s something very therapeutic about making soup. Something about creating the heavenly, aromatic concoction in my own way that starts the healing process. Starting with heating the broth slowly. Working the slap-chop to prepare uneven pieces of onion, carrots, and celery. Adding the vegetables and spices. The taste begins with the scent. Tonight, it’s what I call my “Diversity Bean” soup: ham chunks with black and white beans. When I’m in soup-mode; I’m starting to feel good. Saturday nights during the Fall and Winter, the pressure’s off my “what’s for dinner tonight” plate, because I know soup’s on. Easy, delicious and my family loves whatever I create, whether it’s the well-loved chicken noodle, beans and greens, beef vegetable or ham and bean. Got to run now, the pot’s simmering and I’m feeling better already.

Leave a Reply

